Held Hostage….?


Hello world, although it was my intention to share a post on here a few days ago, I encountered some technical issues. Imagine waking up the day after Christmas, and discovering that you were locked out of your word processing software.

“Arrrgh,” I growled knowing that I had a couple of articles due the next morning for one of my cherished clients. I shook my head and cursed the day I upgraded from Microsoft Word 2010, to the new and improved Microsoft Office 365. It seemed like a good idea at the time since the upgrade was included with the NetBook I got as a gift from my brother last year for Christmas. Little did I realize that a year later my life’s work would be held for ransom.

I suppose that’s a little melodramatic but I am a writer and a good story requires a little drama doesn’t it? Yes I know that I can use Microsoft Office 365 Online for free, or I could use Google Docs, but what about those times I have no internet access? I often write at the beach, in the mountains or at a park because I find those places inspirational and there are limited distractions.

So what’s a free spirited freelance writer to do when his work is being held hostage? Pay the fee?

Hell no! Being the rebel I am, and being as angry as I am, I have decided to search for a word processing program that won’t charge me a monthly fee for the privilege of accessing my own work. Although I love Microsoft’s Word program, I don’t like the notion that I should have to pay a monthly or yearly subscription fee to use it even if that fee is less than what I pay for a couple of cups of coffee. What’s next a subscription fee to use my laptop?

So the search has begun, a simple Google Search revealed that there are a number of great word processing programs out there including many that offer the same features that Microsoft includes in Office 365. I don’t mind paying for the software in fact I paid for Word 2010 unfortunately when I upgraded I apparently lost access to that program.

After doing some research I realize that as a professional writer I may be swimming upstream as I try to get away from Microsoft’s new subscription service, but there are some great alternatives available on the market. I have narrowed the list down to three programs that were rated highly on TopTenReviews.com, Corel’s WordPerfect Office X8, SoftMaker’s TextMaker 2016, and Ability Office 6. I am downloading trial versions of the fore mentioned word processing software, and intend to give them all a fair shot by using each one to polish up a chapter of my latest manuscript.

Additionally there are a few free offerings that also look like they would be up to the task such as Libre Office which I just installed on my NetBook. Another promising possibility is Open Office Writer 4.1.3 which I am currently using to write this post on my trusty Lenovo laptop. What word processing software do you use?

How do you feel about monthly subscriptions to access your own work?

Leave a Reply

