What do you want to do… Change the world?


Identity, Direction, Purpose…. These three powerful words, have found a new meaning for me in my life. In all honesty it seems that I have spent the last eight years in a state of self discovery. It takes a great deal of effort to know who you really are. Sifting through the layers of labels and expectations placed upon me in my lifetime was an enormous task.

Writing is tool that helps us in many ways on our journey it is one of many action steps we can take. It is used for empowerment and letting go and has a great effect on our personal well being and confidence. One of the most helpful empowerment tools I wish I had learned about earlier in my life actually helps with all three of these aspects empowering us providing a great base to work from.

The tool is a Personal Statement! I consider it a painting of sorts and add to mine regularly. The benefits of writing one are many as it covers all three of the bases. Identity, direction and purpose, as you write yours go deep and visualize big!


feather-clipart-407-writing-using-a-feather-and-ink-design

Have you ever written down your vision?

Have you ever sat down and thought about what you would like to contribute to the world?

I had the gift of observing the power of what a written Personal Statement can do for a person. I was in a class and one of the students was asked about his life and what his vision was. He was also asked what the contribution of his vision would contribute to the world. He smiled and looked bewildered as he said he had no clue what his vision was nor did he ever give any thought as to what his contribution would be to the world. “I am just a common guy and have no dream or desire to change the world. I work in an IT department and my wife made me take this class” was his response. We all laughed as his wife jabbed him in the ribs. The instructor then asked him if he was up for a challenge that would change his life in a very positive way. He said he was and then the true transformation began.

The instructor gave him a “Home work assignment” he was to come in the next day with a two page typed in an Arial font size 12 double spaced Personal Statement. The statement was to be a written essay of what he truly aspired to do for the rest of his life and what he would be contributing to the rest of the world.” Even if he was a dishwasher for a dream job he would be helping clean up the planet and providing clean sanitary dishes for the people that ate in the restaurant where he worked. His dishwashing skills and services would be a benefit to the community as he would do so in a way that conserved water while using natural bio degradable soap he would be contributing to the community he lived in and the world.” Was the example the instructor put out there for the student. He smiled and laughed at the example and said he “Got it”.

The next day it was amazing to see the student stand up as he was asked if he had done his homework. He responded “Yes I did my homework I stayed up until 3 am working on it I was surprised at how many times I changed my mind and re wrote it. I finally decided what to write when I knew I was running out of time” he said as he held up the two pages.

The Student was asked to come up to the stage and read his essay to the group, he knew he was going to be asked and he was ready. He had dressed in a nice suit and wore a tie that matched his eyes. He began by telling us all he only wore a suit to church on Sundays and rarely wore a tie. He said he was inspired by the essay he had written and felt so alive, “I have never felt as alive as I feel today” were the first words he spoke as he walked onto the stage.

He began to read his piece when the instructor stopped him and urged him to read it with the passion it deserved and the passion he was showing in his dress and with his smile. He read the statement with such conviction and it was amazing to see him and the energy he shared as he went through the speech. It was like watching an inaugural speech by a famous president. He was so inspired and proud of what he had written and discovered as he searched within his being for his identity and the direction he wanted to go as he fulfilled his purpose. The group stood up and gave him a standing ovation as he shouted his last words “I am awesome, I am inspiring, and I am making our world a more loving and beautiful place.”

I have found a new respect for the Personal Statement and as I re write mine I thought I would share the story with you all and ask if you have written a Personal Statement. I hope you might find the time to do so and take the time to really discover what it is you want to do with your life that changes our world in a positive way even if it is doing dishes or being a garbage man you contribute to the world in many ways. I hope that you go deep and discover your passion and what you truly desire to be and do with your life as you paint the picture of who you are and want to be. If you are a dishwasher now and you aspire to inspire perhaps you will choose to become a writer in your vision and inspire change through peace or a greener planet through natural detergents and conserving water. Write your new story with passion from the depths of who you are and what you want to do knowing whatever it is you choose you will contribute to our world many great things! What is your dream… ?

Thank you all for being you and for taking the time to read this post. I hope you are inspired to write your Personal Statement and know who you are, where you want to go, and the reason you want to get there…” Identity, Direction, Purpose…” To inspire us all and change our world in a positive way as you set the example from within and change from within you will change the world around you!

Namaste 

8 thoughts on “What do you want to do… Change the world?

    • Irene… You are an amazing friend and I cherish your support and the joy you bring with your visits! Thank you my beautiful and awesome friend. I appreciate the encouragement and the smiles you share. thank you for being Beautiful and for being you!🙂🙂🙂

  1. “Identity, Direction, Purpose…. These three powerful words”…⭐
    Indeed they are dear Joe…
    Keep on writing… That’s your call, my friend !.
    Great post… Thanks for spreading your magic!. Best wishes, Aquileana😀

    • Aquileana, you have that gift of sharing a smile and making a person feel awesome! Thank you for being awesome and for sharing your gift with me and all those you touch with your wonderful comments compliments and words!🙂 The magic seems to fill the air! Best wishes to you as well my beautiful friend!

Leave a Reply

