Synchronicity, Carl Jung, Sir Isaac Newton, Blogging and the Emerald Tablet.. Off the hook and off the grid!


https://farm4.staticflickr.com/3109/2576391491_dc8a3e337e_z.jpg

Image of Emerald Tablet courtesy of Flikr


Synchronicity… A philosophical concept first described by Carl Jung, a Swiss psychologist in the 1920’s it is a term that has had great meaning in my life lately. Funny in a way as it brings me back to the one who coined the term in a very unique way. I suppose it was meant to be in my education and evolution that I would be at this point in time sharing thoughts about synchronicity and some of my experiences with the concept.

. It is only natural that for my own personal evolution, Alchemy is a part of my path spiritually. It is quite a gift that my time spent in the blog world in reading so many great blogs has been a treasure of knowledge shared both from the writers and those that inspire them and the knowledge over the ages that they are aware of and in turn make the rest of us aware of. It is quite synchronistic that I started blogging to share my thoughts and become a better writer and in doing so have added exponentially to my own spiritual growth and evolution by becoming part of a community of writers of which many are on a path of spiritual growth and evolution as well. I learn from every writer something that helps me become a better human being than I was before I read what they shared! Thank you all for sharing!

I thought I would share a treasure and a piece of ancient knowledge that has influenced many and been quoted in part by many that perhaps are not even aware of where that quote came from. I had not even heard of the Emerald Tablet yet have many times heard the quote; “That which is below is like that which is above & that which is above is like that which is below” I had the belief that was a quote from the Bible.. You learn something new every day. I also learned that Carl Jung was believed to have fallen asleep on the Emerald Tablet and even more interestingly Sir Isaac Newton translated it and studied it in depth. Isaac Newton was also one of the most known Alchemists of all time another intriguing fact I was unaware of until I read about the Emerald Tablet. It is his translation I choose to share the excerpt I share is from Wikipedia.

Newton’s translation
A translation by Isaac Newton is found among his alchemical papers that are currently housed in King’s College Library, Cambridge University.[8]
1. Tis true without lying, certain & most true.
2. That which is below is like that which is above & that which is above is like that which is below to do the miracles of one only thing
3. And as all things have been & arose from one by the mediation of one: so all things have their birth from this one thing by adaptation.
4. The Sun is its father, the moon its mother, the wind hath carried it in its belly, the earth is its nurse.
5. The father of all perfection in the whole world is here.
6. Its force or power is entire if it be converted into earth.
7. Separate thou the earth from the fire, the subtle from the gross sweetly with great industry.
8. It ascends from the earth to the heaven & again it descends to the earth & receives the force of things superior & inferior.
9. By this means you shall have the glory of the whole world
10. & thereby all obscurity shall fly from you.
11. Its force is above all force. For it vanquishes every subtle thing & penetrates every solid thing.
12. So was the world created.
13. From this are & do come admirable adaptations whereof the means (or process) is here in this. Hence I am called Hermes Trismegist, having the three parts of the philosophy of the whole world
14. That which I have said of the operation of the Sun is accomplished & ended.

– Meditation and Alchemy are two subjects I have a great interest in on a spiritual level, embracing both Eastern and Western Philosophies It was a gift to go off the grid for a few days and sit in nature and just be with the natural world and contemplate as well as meditate after having learned about and read this piece of mystical writing shared with me through the world of blogging!

I thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two and thank you all for being you and sharing the thoughts and love you share in doing so! Thank you as well for being the positive change our world so needs as you share your smiles and share your love making it a better world for all we share it with! 
Namaste!  bows head and smiles deeply!

23 thoughts on “Synchronicity, Carl Jung, Sir Isaac Newton, Blogging and the Emerald Tablet.. Off the hook and off the grid!

  1. Joe, this, for what it may be worth to you, from The ‘Quo Vadis?’ III:
    Synchronicity.
    The word ‘synchronicity’ is generally used in the context of two things/events occurring at the same time (coincidence). Carl Jung used it in a slightly different, spiritual context for which I would like to suggest a brief and simple definition viz.

    Synchronicity is the coincidence of a need and an event.

    Note: Often the term/word ‘serendipity’ is used when what is meant is ‘synchronicity’ and the above should clarify that.

    • Ian it is always a pleasure and honor to have youi share your thoughts and wisdom. The truth is I chose synchronicity as it quite fit a number of coincidences occured almost at the same time and in relation to the same event.. Kind of cool I hope you are doing well I have to make time to come and read your journal! Smiles my friend.. Do you have a LinkedIn page?

  2. Nice read, thank you. Here’s the thing about coincidence – everything is a coincidence, everywhere, all the time. What makes them remarkable is that every now and then, we find a significance in an event(s). A bit like turning the tuning knob on a radio, as we sweep the dial, stations rise and fade. The broadcasts are all there in the ether we just need to be attuned to them. Just a thought🙂

    • Hi Bill, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts in such a wonderful way. I am grateful and appreciate you doing so! !🙂 I hope you will visit again soon and I look forward to reading your pages as well!

      Namaste

  3. I love to meditate and love to learn about alchemy (but there is a lot for me to learn)
    love the blog post, thank you for sharing
    namaste

    (was going to say take care but you think I saying good bye lol)

  4. the tablet has many scripts engraved..yet who knew now we will have tablet that will belong to the family of computers..and the tablet (pill) that we need to take after we want to make some sense what each tablet has to tell. Way..back then did the writer think that in future it would become part of blogging ..maybe not..yet message has traveled far..in time and space/place..sometimes it amazes one on terms of sharing..when we eat rice..I always think where was it grown..how it got passed to the point that it has landed on my plate..will the farmer ever think who is munching away..

  5. What a ready-witted post… I haven’t heard about these tablets before… Interesting that it links to Jung’s idea of synchronicity too!.
    Best wishes, Aquileana😀

Leave a Reply

