“A Green Stream”… By Wang Wei, One of my favorite poems


 

 

I thought I would share one of my favorite poems. I rarely share a poem I didn’t write. I however was inspired to share this one as each time I read it, it has a new and deeper meaning I am quite amazed at the simple complexity expressed in this short poem. The Tang Shi is part of one of my favorite sacred texts, “The Book of Changes” I study as I expand my consciousness and my spiritual awareness. There are many lessons we can learn from the metaphors expressed in ancient writings.. We as humanity may have far more technology that our ancestors did even a hundred years ago yet the wheel has been around for about 5000 years. The truth is we have all but forgotten some of the treasures shared with us by our ancestors spiritually and our common desire for tranquility. “Oh to remain on a broad flat rock and to cast a fishing line forever”

唐 詩 Tang Shi – 300 Tang poems
An anthology of 320 poems. Discover Chinese poetry in its golden age and some of the greatest Chinese poets. Tr. by Bynner (en).
I II III IV V VI VII VIII
I — 五 言 古 詩 Five-character-ancient-verse
Tangshi I. 1. (15)


王 維 Wang Wei
A Green Stream

I have sailed the River of Yellow Flowers,
Borne by the channel of a green stream,
Rounding ten thousand turns through the mountains
On a journey of less than thirty miles….
Rapids hum over heaped rocks;
But where light grows dim in the thick pines,
The surface of an inlet sways with nut-horns
And weeds are lush along the banks.
…Down in my heart I have always been as pure
As this limpid water is….
Oh, to remain on a broad flat rock
And to cast a fishing-line forever!


Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two and thank you for being you! I am grateful for your being the positive change our world so needs by sharing your smiles and sharing your love and making our world a better place for all we share it with. 
Namaste!

8 thoughts on ““A Green Stream”… By Wang Wei, One of my favorite poems

    • You are welcome and thank you for taking the time to comment and share your thoughts. I would love to make it to China sometime in the near future I am happy you had the opportunity to go there and it appears you enjoyed it!🙂

      • I lived in Southern China for four years and would very much encourage people to visit I loved it there. (longer visits are preferable as it takes time to adjust and learn – hope your works out.)

Leave a Reply

