I wonder what is our biggest fear that stops us from looking within and knowing who we are?


I believe we have all heard the expression that” we are afraid of our own power “and that limits many from looking within themselves to find and be who they are. I would like to share an observation from my recent experiences that says otherwise. Not that the expression of being afraid of our own power isn’t true, it may be we are afraid to see what is inside of us for another reason.

A few people have asked me recently how to find who they are or getting to know themselves. One in particular stands out and is the inspiration for this post. His name is Dennis; he is a very beautiful human being with a kind heart. He like many of us has done some things he is not proud of; his fear is that he will find he is ugly!

I can embrace and understand that fear and see how it may limit many in a way as well as discourage many from seeking the truth about themselves. We all have our own inner demons so to speak that we must confront in order to know who we really are.

Unfortunately some of the perceptions about ourselves come from places that we hold in high regard such as our religions and our communities as well as those very close to us such as our partners or our family. Guilt is the largest single hurdle for many it seems in truly going deep enough to know who we are. I personally had a difficult time in learning how to deal with guilt and losing the labels as well as the fear placed on my actions and choices by religion and my loved ones.

Guilt makes us feel ugly and unworthy, to hang our heads in shame and hide our other qualities from the world. With your head hung in shame it is hard to look someone in the eye even yourself in the mirror. Guilt is a form of feedback not a sentence… Take the feedback and modify your thoughts, stop looking at your past choices as sins, or shameful acts and accept that they were perhaps not the best choices to make. They however do not define who you are, that is where the perception of being ugly comes in for Dennis and to be honest it was a slippery slope for me to climb as well. For years I sought relief by confessing my sins and dwelling in shame rather than looking for the beautiful side I was staring at the ugly side mesmerized. My mind screaming somebody find me a Priest, knowing that the Priest could not take away that feeling of guilt or the shame I felt for having done those things that were labeled ugly and sinful.

My way of helping Dennis as well as a few other people with the same issue lately was to encourage them to look into that mirror deeply and then see what they find. Go within beyond the ugly and see what they find. It takes a great amount of courage to go so deep through that darkness that you find the light on the other side. The beautiful thing is as you do so with the intent of knowing who you really are a light glimmers even if it is faint at first to light your way through that darkness. How we let go of the pain and the guilt for each one of us is different yet as we do so the light grows stronger and the ugly transmutes to beauty.

So I would like to ask you the questions…

Do you fear that you are a powerful spiritual being?

Do you fear that you will find that you are Ugly?

Do you know who you truly are?

Are you going to find out?

How deep inside of you have you traveled? Only as far as your love of yourself has allowed you to go!
♥♥♥
Thank you for allowing me to share a few thoughts and perhaps even some inspiration on your journey to see the beautiful human being you are. I hope you look deep into your eyes in that mirror and tell yourself you are beautiful and love the beautiful you that you see!

Thank you for being you and for making our world a better place for all we share it with you are the positive change our world so needs!

Namaste

11 thoughts on “I wonder what is our biggest fear that stops us from looking within and knowing who we are?

      • Because I’m so sensitive, it’s sometimes difficult to deal with these issues when it concerns people I care about. With people “outside my circle,” it’s somewhat easier. I’m learning to forgive. Forgiveness, I’m finding, is a great source of peace and liberating. I’m finding that people’s labels don’t have to stick, if I don’t believe them. And guilt, I’m learning to forgive myself. I’m learning how to see myself through God’s eyes; discovering the special person I am. I hope that answers your question. Sorry for sounding preachy.🙂

  1. Very interesting post Joe. One really need to find the courage to go and look deeply inside ourselves. It is not easy, but absolutely possible, if you wish to know yourself better.
    A mirror is very useful for these too, but also tough for some.

  2. Thank you for following my blog!🙂 I love your blog. You’ll be seeing me around, I have many comments. I’m pressed for time at the moment. See you soon.

  3. Wonderful post Joe. I agree we need to lift our heads up and look in that mirror, see ourselves for the really special person each of us is. God made us in His image and he doesn’t make mistakes. It’s a hard thing to do, of course but if we can look at ourselves clearly and forgive ourselves for what we see as the ugly part of our lives, we are so much better off! Thanks for sharing, Joe

  4. Hi Joe,
    I am grateful to read your post today… So many powerful musings and insights… I can’t but nod in agreement with you!… Thank you very much for sharing.
    Best wishes, Aquileana😀

  5. I do know myself , with all the sins and embarrassing moments , yet I distance myself from those unless I am thrown into the well of past..I try to come out clean and face the world..yet inside my mind I know who I am..and I tell myself..”Since I can forgive myself and live with peace, I must forgive others🙂

Leave a Reply

