Me, “The Way ” Gaza, Israel, and Desmund Tutu


There are times when I question myself as far as what my place is in regards to causes and the injustices in our world. I empathize with the young Buddha as he explored the world outside his palace for the first time as a young child. He saw the plows opening the earth and was amazed with what he saw, he saw mother earth being cut open and violated. He saw the poor and the helpless all the while questioning why and how or what he could or should do about it. I am of course not Buddha I am a spiritual being living as a simple man.

I have been studying so many different spiritual perspectives shared by so many spiritual beings past and present as well as the laws that govern our Universe as the great Lau Tzu or Buddha may have expressed it “The Way or the Tao” as a more modern perspective it may be the” Law of Attraction or Physics” Metaphysics as it were covers all of it. Buddha knew the laws as did Jesus well enough to alter the path of mankind perhaps even enough to change the immediate environment yet they could not change the laws themselves. The laws are what they are Universal and not alterable they may be understood and embraced as well as leveraged yet they are not alterable by man as that is the way.

I wonder at times what I may do with the knowledge and understanding I have of those laws in order to serve the higher good. I can not change the world and embracing negative energy only brings more negative energy. I can change my thoughts and feelings in regards to me and my situation yet the thoughts and feelings of my fellow spiritual beings in their human forms are not mine to control. I have spent a great amount of time learning to change and be in line with my greater self or spiritual self and know it is my place to walk in the middle with love and compassion and empathy yet in joy as for the gift given me to live and enjoy my human form.

I will say that for me as a human being it is at times hard to walk the” Path of Mean “not choosing to embrace the negative aspects of being a human. One of my heros shared a quote we may all learn from “When we choose to hate our oppressors we become like them” Desmond Tutu speaking in reference to Apartheid and the murder and torture of the humans of color in South Africa.

Today I was quite frankly proud in a way to see a protest in the city I live in Salt Lake City Utah is a predominantly right wing religious city in a religious state. I have never seen a protest like the one I saw today on State Street in the middle of downtown. It is not that there are no protests here it was the kind of protest. It was a protest against the conflict in Gaza and Palestine, I would have actually participated if it was for peace yet as I heard the chants of end the Apartheid in Palestine and the negative aspects of the crowd it reminded me of the words spoken by one of those most responsible for the end of Apartheid.

IMG_20140725_170409_678

The Jewish people have endured much as a people, so have the Arabs the Palestinians the Jewish side seems to have become very hateful and the oppression of the peoples of Gaza is reminiscent to me of the Nazi treatment of the Jews. Like the Jews in Nazi Germany the Palestinians have been herded into a small area and controlled in every way concentrated so to speak so they can be punished at will, even exterminated if that would serve the purpose of the Israeli Government. The Palestinian side seems to be just as hateful much like the Jewish people were when Hitler rounded them up and concentrated them in areas to be controlled and punished at will even exterminated if it would serve the purpose of the Nazi Government.
.
A perpetual loop, until someone breaks the cycle how many women and children have to be killed before we as human beings find our spiritual beings and break the cycle? How many times is Hamas going to show up at a gunfight with a pocket knife before they come to their senses and extend a hand of love.. How many times is Israel going to swat a fly with a howitzer before they say “we love you quit with the pocket knife lets be friends there has been enough killing on our planet especially of our wives and children.” How much more will it take before the world says enough… and stops giving Israel the howitzers if they are going to swat flies with them? It is almost surreal to say you are defending your country and attacking with an army a country that has no army… Reminds me of another situation my country was involved in based on lies and a war fought in our defense with a country that couldn’t even attack our country if they wanted to.. Not one jet, not one tank, not one missile could they have hit us with… Now I am trying to stop a T rex with a bb gun..🙂

Any way the hate has to stop and the negative has to be transmuted or it will be a never ending loop.. That is the law of the Universe… The other alternative is for the human beings of this planet to consciously and spiritually offset and even more so drown the negative with such love and compassion that the Universe transmutes it and breaks the loop, which would take many of us more than four billion, could turn the tide.

Kudos to those that protested in Salt Lake City today, I would have joined you if your message had been of love and peace… I am however proud you put yourselves out there for your cause.

IMG_20140725_170355_420

Thank you all for allowing me to share some thoughts on a subject that is hard to swallow.. I will never understand the killing of human beings by human beings, I may have to accept it yet I will walk the path of mean and say it is not the way!

Thank you for being you and being the change our world so needs by sharing your love and your smiles making our world a better place for all we share it with.. 
Namaste with love

18 thoughts on “Me, “The Way ” Gaza, Israel, and Desmund Tutu

  1. Excellent article! Everything you speak of I know to be true. I lived in Utah and was baptized mormon. It was the most depressing 6 years of my life. I have since been a spiritual journey for peace myself.

    Have you read the book, “The Secret? ”
    I know when I focus on the good it gets better, but when I focus on the bad it gets worse. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.

    Religion is not something that is beneficial for me. I love the Buddhist teachings, Ghandi, Mother Teresa, Jesus, and many more.
    I believe if we live by the golden rule we will live in peace.

    Thank you for sharing this it was great for me to read it. It was encouraging.
    The laws of the universe cannot lie.
    positive energy is God
    Sincerely,
    Dawnasong

    • Thank you Dawnasong… You make me smile, yes I have read “The Secret” and I enjoyed it greatly almost as much as your comment.. I spent my teen years here in Utah and they were I would guess quite similar to yours. I am sure that is part of the reason I am here now in a way not only for the healing process from the time I spent here as a youth as much as for some reason the literary circles and path I am on to living my dreams and creating my new reality while the magical universe manifests those things that light up the way to having my dream reality. We are quite on the same path I imagine and quite in tune with each other on many levels, it is a pleasure to share time and space with you I am honored! Thank you for expressing your thoughts and sharing your heart as you did so!🙂

      Sincerely and with love Namaste,
      Joe

  2. I too wonder how long before both sides realize that by continuing to engage in war they are exterminating their future by killing the children of both countries.
    Joe you possess an amazing ability in your writings to convey a message without evoking anger.
    Truth spoken with love!

  3. Well thought and well said, Joe. I find myself drawn to the voices and actions of those on both sides who DO work for peace. I find the work of the Parents’ Circle (a registered, joint Israeli-Palestinian organization of bereaved families on both sides, more than 600 families at present), which recognizes the necessity of responding to bereavement by working toward reconciliation rather than retaliation. Whenever my heart needs a reminder that there are those on both sides of the conflict — IN the zone of conflict, no less — taking steps toward peaceful reconciliation, I go back and read their webpage. (It’s at TheParentsCircle.com if you want to check it out.) Salaam.

    • Laura, I am most grateful for your contributions towards peace and the expanded awareness you bring to our world. I am even more grateful you chose to read my post and share such a wonderful comment. I admire you and your compassion as we both feel much the same way, I also appreciate the link I shall explore it soon! Thank you for being you and thank you for sharing with me and the world the love you share… Salaam

  4. You will understand more as you move forward – you are a seeker and the saying, “Seek and you shall find.” is correct. Meanwhile, remember this: Buddha and Christ are titles, not names, hence, Siddhartha the Buddha and Jesus (Jeshua, really!) the Christ are the correct terms applicable. I know, almost everybody gets it wrong and that is because ignorance is rampant and the will to be correct negligible. Enjoy your journey!

    • Thank you Cindy I am quite honored you chose to read the post and even more so for your compliment and comment! Thank you so much for taking the time to read the post and share the sentiment you shared I truly appreciate you doing so. I respect your your talent, gifts and your words as they do resonate so often in my own heart. I shall try to express my thoughts with you there on your pages more often.

  5. Pro Peace always rather than anti War Joe. I’m with you all the way on this my good friend. And my thoughts are with all those who suffer in the battles others wage in what ever cause thEy say its For. We all know who is beind the war machines. And those who are to gain from it.
    I awoke to read your naked tear poem in my phone and the read this. TypinG on my phone. But just had to call by to say my own thoughts so similar. Bless you JOE xxx hugs Sue x

  6. AT a bare facts level, the ingredients seem to me to amount to:
    1. The surrounding Arabs who refuse to allow the Palestinian Arabs into their countries are what keeps Gaza and the West Bank in existence. It is obvious that Israel can’t absorb so many Moslems who hate Jews.
    2. If the Palestinians did not fire missiles into Israel, there would be no need for Israel to enter the territories at all.
    3. Palestinians used to work in Israel. About 70,000 of such jobs were lost when the Moslems declared jihad, using those workers’ daily access to Israel as a weapon.
    4. Israel takes defensive action that it cannot afford economically. The Palestinians attack, using resources supplied by Gulf Arabs and Iran.
    All the above seems to me factual and verifiable. It is the surrounding Arabs who control the levers of peace that their missiles deny Israel. The same Arabs who immediately attacked the new State upon its declaration, and whom have continued to do so ever since.

    On a larger scale, war seems to inhabit our genes, if our history is any guide. Perhaps that replaces an external predator …The Buddha, Christ and others have offered instruction on how we should behave for an alternative lifestyle but our species does not seem constructed to behave in that way, at least, to date. Maybe our evolving biosciences will overcome that …But then, we’ll have to recalculate the viability of our species under altered behavior …

    • Thank you for your kind comment and taking the time to share it. We can only hope that as we express our thoughts we may inspire people with like minds and thoughts to express their thoughts as well the more of us that are willing to look at things from a new or different perspective the more opportunity for real change and peace.🙂

Leave a Reply

