Let them Eat “CAKE”… a poetic thought


What do you do when there is nothing left to lose?
When all hope is lost what path will you choose?

Some will choose to rise above with dignity and grace
Others will choose a path that they wouldn’t in another time and place

When the people in power turn their backs and walk away
To those with nothing what can you really say?

It will be many years before they have their day
To those who have nothing to lose what can you really say?

Its like in a movie called “Star Wars” the” Empire Strikes Back”
The Senate has voted and given the citizens a whack

Or perhaps a scene from a time long ago
One where a Queen said a saying we all know

‘Let them eat CAKE’ was her famous last line that comes to mind
Somewhat like what the Senators said to the countrymen of mine

As the Senators live on a salary we pay
They voted to keep the poor in a place of dismay

Minimum wage is an act of hate against the citizens
Not to raise it while you take our money is a sin

A living wage is needed to make our nation strong
Yet the greedy business owners say that would be wrong

Like Reaganomics watering the top of the tree
The water never trickles to the roots where it needs to be

The Senators and businesses with their greedy needs
Are destroying our country the land of the free

Veterans returning face the ultimate injury
No jobs or living wages to a life of poverty

What I ask do they expect for all of us to do
When backed into a corner with nothing left to lose?

Minimum wage is a disgrace as our Senators and Congress are too
I SAY WE VOTE THEM ALL OUT THAT IS THE HONORABLE THING TO DO

I say we act with grace and tell them to eat cake
We have taken all we can take!

Spend a few trillion dollars on a jet or two
A billion on a battle tank to take care of me and you
What we really need is a living wage so we can buy some food

Yet you say we are not worth a minimum of ten dollars an hour
I say you are not worthy of your governing power

I would like to see you rule with dignity
SO WATER THE ROOTS OF THE COUNTRY
DEMAND A LIVING WAGE IN THE LAND OF THE FREE

VOTE THEM ALL OUT AS THEY DON’T REPRESENT YOU OR ME!
DEMAND THAT WE ARE ALL EQUAL AND DESERVE TO BE TREATED WITH DIGNITY!

We have nothing left to lose
I say we fire the politicians and from the people we should choose!

Thank you and I apologize for venting this way here on this page yet I must express my thoughts in a way that I feel is positive. The actions and words of our government are not in the best interest of “We the People” as far as many things go. The system is broken and it is not politicians that are going to fix it they are destroying it!

I thank you for your time and being you as well as being the positive change our world so needs.🙂

Namaste!

PS I will get to the comments you have been sharing and your posts soon.. I have been doing much research for some upcoming projects and chopping wood.. Working at my trade as I prepare for the transition to my new life.. I need to put food on the table and buy a few suits🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Let them Eat “CAKE”… a poetic thought

  1. You hit on an area that is beyond my comprehension – really.
    I offer prayers and good cheer. All are blessed and too few know it.

    Joe; I am sharing some appreciation and recognition today
    http://hunt4truth.wordpress.com/2014/07/05/beauty-all-around/
    No requirements attached… Peace and joy is all ~ Eric

    PS I believe awards ought be given only – without any requirement… I have a few that have a requirement yet to share. This one came without conditions to me… the best – and I appreciate you… so,hoping you have a blessed week or two – because it takes me about that long or longer to get around the blogosphere these days. Love calls me onward… and I am richly blessed with more than 700 blogs between wordpress followers here and blogs I maintain elsewhere to visit.

Leave a Reply

