Happy Fathers Day … A poem for my son


On this day of fathers a very special one
Happy Fathers day to my son
When you were born many years ago
I knew one day you also would be one
Happy Fathers day to my son

I did the best I could as I raised you to be you
I tried the best I could sometimes I felt blue
There were times I cried not knowing what to do
Now that you are grown I know one thing is true

I hope that you have learned from the things I did wrong
To ask how to be a better father is a sign of the strong
Something I learned when you were almost grown
I wish I had known all along

My Father I never knew at all it seems
I wanted to be the father of your dreams
I never wanted to hurt you with my angry screams
Wanted to take you fishing and teach you many things

You are a father now and your children need you
Please learn from my example of what you may do
Learn to ask and learn to be the best father you can be
Love you Son I am proud of you
I know you will be a better father than me

I Love you Son I am proud of you
Happy Fathers day from me!
Do your best and be the best father you can be
I love you Son I am proud of you
Happy Fathers day from me!

Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two… Happy Fathers Day to all the Fathers passing through and to all of the women I wish a Happy Fathers day to your husbands and fathers too! 🙂 It is the first Fathers Day for my son and I felt it was appropriate to write a poem for him and thought you may enjoy reading it as well.

Thank you 🙂

15 thoughts on “Happy Fathers Day … A poem for my son

  1. I love this poem you wrote! It takes a very humble, strong, and amazing man to admit he made mistakes to his adult son!!! I wish my husband’s father was like this – their relationship would be so much better! Thank you for this poem, truly touched!

    • Thank you for sharing such a wonderful and heart felt sentiment I am quite humbled and honored you chose to do so. Thank you I am grateful and appreciate your sharing such a wonderful comment and compliment with me. 🙂

    • Thank you for the comment and I will add a link for following via e mail. The new top bar on the page has a follow button so I just left it at that yet I should have considered those readers that are not on wordpress… Thank you and I will add the link shortly!

Leave a Reply

