Ode to the trancedentalists.. Gods Face (a poem)


Laying in a meadow that was rarely seen
Silently observing the shadows cast from the moonlit beams
Darkness enveloped almost everything
The stars in the heavens sparkling like diamonds in the crown of a queen
Really quite enchanting I felt like I was living in a dream

Transformed feeling translucent lighter than the air
Becoming a breeze so gentle blowing every where
Flowing through the branches of the beautiful trees
Branches covered with their glorious leaves
Waving as I passed and tickling me

The leaves they rustled and the branches squeaked
As I passed through them they began to speak
I heard the babbling brook, a tiny creek
Quite soft spoken in fact I would say meek
I know it was only a moment yet it felt like a week

I was quite taken with the whole scene
As I began to feel like I was a part of everything
Then I saw an Owl as it spread its wings
Taking to flight as it passed through me
Then came the music as the Angels began to sing

Laying in the meadow observing with my eyes
The shadows of the trees under the moon lit sky
As the gentle breeze passed by
Far off in the heavens where the comets fly
The place some know as outer space
Then I realized I was looking at Gods face
In all of creation love unconditional, eternal Grace

I was moved and inspired to write a poem and dedicate it to a few of my inspirational teachers. In the Early 1800’s to the mid 1800’s there was a movement started by a group of intellectuals, philosophers, poets, spiritual beings and loving souls. The “Movement” started in New England known as Transcendentalism is one that I am studying at the moment in more depth.. Ralph Waldo Emerson is given credit as the leader of the movement yet I would say all the main members or founders have shaped the world especially the literary world we know today.Β  Alcott, Thoreau, Dickinson, Emerson, to name a few are still inspiring and teaching us today.

Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two. Thank you as well for being the positive change our world sharing your love and your smiles making it a better place for all we share it with..πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Ode to the trancedentalists.. Gods Face (a poem)

  1. I am looking at the novel edited by Perry Miller entitled, “The American Transcendentalists” (Their Prose and Poetry). I look forward to reading more of your work as you continue on this reading effort.

    Amazing poem as well.

    Thank you for sharing this one, and reminding me as well of the novel. Looking forward to your future postings.

    -N.N.

  2. Joe as always your poetry inspires and is a delight to read, it holds such deep meaning… Bless you my friend.. Enjoy your walk with Nature as you travel the UniverseπŸ™‚

    • Thank you Marianne and especially Rebecca… It is an honor that you would share the sentiment and compliments with me. You are both quite awesome and inspirational as well! I was happy that you got all thumbs up with the Doctors and hope the same with your house buying experience you deserve the best in your journey!πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

