Inspirational people and causes series.. “Doc Mishler”


IMG_20140521_114907_570

Inspirational People
A series of articles about people and their causes

I would like to share a few thoughts and part of an incredible story as well as an amazing journey as shared with me recently by my friend “Doc Mishler”. I would imagine some reading this may know him or perhaps have seen him in your city or town. As he crosses back and forth across the country with his three companions “Chief-Free-Spirit” “Keep-the-Faith” and “Hunger-no-More”. They are his friends and his transportation three beautiful horses that have been across the country from what I gather several times. I am in awe and inspired by Doc and his mission to feed those that are hungry and make sure children will stop going to bed hungry.

Doc is a survivor and a beautiful human being I asked him how old he was and he just laughed, I am guessing he is in his early 70’s. He has survived cancer, a quadruple bypass a complete hip replacement and a broken pelvis which was expected to end his horse riding days. He was told he could not ride anymore after a trip from Choteau, MT. to Washington D.C. by way of California. It was said he broke his pelvis walking down the steps of the Capital Bldg. after he spoke to Congress expressing that every weapon we create and spend money on that belongs to the hungry children is stealing from our world the gifts that those children are to our future and our world. His pilgrimage across the country in an effort to make people aware was one that focused on the churches he passed along the way.

I met Doc after this journey had been completed in an Office Max at the print shop, I go every Wednesday to a particular store in downtown Salt Lake City UT. I stop and have my writing project for one of the writing groups I participate in printed. I was quite taken and surprised when I got off the train and saw three horses tied to a tree. I smiled and my imagination took over as I wondered what was going on and who might be responsible for the scene I was viewing. I walked to the back of the store and as I got close to the print shop I smelled horse.. I was not too surprised when I saw a man in ragged chaps and an old dusty hat, vest and a mane of long grey hair with a beard to match.

I asked him if he was aware that his vehicle was improperly parked and we laughed, I asked him where he was headed. “I am going to see the Grand Puba, the head muckity muck, the big chief, and tell him I would like to see him honor Jesus and sell his temples. There are starving children all over the world and if he is a Christian and the Saint he and his followers claim to be they will do as the Jesus would do and feed those children. “ I smiled and asked him did he have an appointment or was he just going to ride right up to the Temple Doors and walk in like Moses meeting the Pharaoh? I asked about his luck with the other churches and the Congress. He smiled and although none would contribute to the cause many people he had met along his journey did contribute and help in many ways.

I know the Mormon Church, “The Church of Jesus Christ the Latter Day Saints didn’t help or contribute either. I also know for the price of one of their Temples they could feed every hungry child in the world for a year or more. Just as I know that for the price of one battle tank our Government in the U.S. could feed every hungry family in the world for a year. I wonder when the big religions with the big pockets that claim to be doing the work of “God” or even more so the work of Jesus will become conscious and aware of what Jesus would want rather than the things they want.

As Doc was getting ready to ride the last mile or so to the Temple of “Mammon” I asked him how I could help other than writing this story. He smiled and said in his lifetime he had only met a few that would do the right thing and keep nothing for themselves as far as his contributions and his heart were concerned. Only one church had shown him the genuine desire to do as they said and would take the donations and do as intended keeping nothing and feeding the hungry children.

He has asked that you give from your heart and contribute as you can here:
Churchcommunitiesinternational.org
Maple ridge Community
10 Hellbrook Ln.
Ulster Park ,NY 12487
Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two about an inspirational man his companions and his cause. Thank you as well for being the positive change our world so needs as you share your smiles and share your love, making our world a better place for all we share it with.
Namaste 

10 thoughts on “Inspirational people and causes series.. “Doc Mishler”

    • Thank you Marianne, I am grateful you liked the story and even more so that you chose to share the comment and compliment as well as the smile that came with them!🙂🙂

    • Thank you Tina, I appreciate that you liked it and chose to share your thoughts… I am always grateful when you visit and the smiles your kind comments leave thank you again and I hope you have an amazing weekend or at least what is left of it!🙂🙂

  1. Lovely story and it is a beginning to meeting the needs of children in the wealthy country in the world. He seems to be a determined man and I bless his efforts. Hugs, Barbara

  2. Thank you Joe–God works in mysterious ways—Pray for me, pray for me to the point where everything I do I do for Jesus or at least to the point where I stay out of the way…

    • Doc, my prayers are always with you! I don’t believe that there is anything you do that gets in the way of the work Jesus had in mind. In fact you are one of those that truly does as Jesus would have us do. You are an inspiration to many by living the way, and setting an example for all of us! I hope you liked the article, I wish I was more talented and could have done you a better write up. One that was worthy of the great things you do and the cause you represent. When we talked at Office Max, I told you I was going to write about you, I hope you don’t mind that I did!

      Keep saving the world and feeding the children, it is what you came to do… With the greatest of love and admiration,

      Namaste

Leave a Reply

