Success? Subjective or objective?


Sometimes in life I have wondered if I was a success, I know I am yet success is such an objective word.

suc•cess
noun \sək-ˈses\
: the fact of getting or achieving wealth, respect, or fame
: the correct or desired result of an attempt
: someone or something that is successful : a person or thing that succeeds

 

The definition doesn’t necessarily express what is success in some terms such as is a homeless person or can a homeless person be a success? What about a poet that wrote a poem and invested money in frames and various printed versions of that poem and didn’t sell any yet the poem was read by 6,000 people? Or an artist that put a painting in an auction and sold it yet barely covered the costs of the materials used to create the art?
I sold a painting I had put much time effort and heart into I had listed it on eBay, it was the first experience I had in doing so and listed it for a minimum bid that was less than it cost to produce. The suggested price for a beginning bid was .99 cents I chose 10 dollars yet felt I should have started at 40. It was an auction however and I had imagined various people bidding on the painting and making a profit, it was a very beautiful and inspirational painting.
The last day of the auction with no bids submitted a lady put in the minimum bid and bought the painting. I had sold the painting my second painting I had ever sold, I was happy to have sold it yet questioned was it a success, after all the canvas it was painted on had cost me 7 dollars and the paints perhaps another 5 not to mention the time and the heart that had been put into creating it. I was successful however in selling a painting and that made me smile. I was not so successful at making a profit or was I?
The lady that had bought the painting was a very special and beautiful lady that I am fortunate to call my friend. I had met her seven or so years ago on “MySpace” a social networking site I used to use mostly to meet women I would date. I was attracted to her and had the thought of asking her to date me. I learned however that she had brain tumors and cancer, I was not in a position nor did I have the desire to pursue a relationship with her for those reasons. I was not sure how to deal with those kinds of issues and although I liked her and admired her I was not ready for such a relationship. She has gone through much in the last seven years and has come a long way as far as her health is concerned. She has a beautiful daughter from her marriage that ended with her getting cancer as her former husband walked away.
She chose to remain my friend over the years in spite of my weakness, she saw the painting when I listed it and shared the link on FaceBook . She commented within minutes how she loved the painting and that I should charge more for shipping. She also had commented on how much she loved another of the paintings I had listed. When she bought the painting I wrote her a note and expressed my gratitude for her buying it even if I had not made a profit I was happy she had bought it and I hoped she would enjoy having it in her home. She wrote me back and her note made me realize I had in fact profited in a way far more that any money could have given.
She wrote me expressing how the painting was inspiration to her in a very deep way as she struggled to get a home for her and her daughter. The comfort and peace she felt when she saw the painting was one she truly cherished, she mentioned that she had wanted to buy the other painting as she loved it yet it was more important to buy her daughter some shoes. Tears fell down my cheek as I thought about when I had first met her and what she had been through since then. Her struggles and raising her daughter with the lack of solid support in some ways, what she must have experienced and learned in the spiritual sense to have the strength and courage to do so. I knew that that painting had somehow found its way to where it belongs.
When I painted the painting I had not painted it for money, I had painted it as I was inspired to do so and it was painted with love from my heart. As an artist, poet, writer and a creative being it is the hope while creating that others will be inspired or appreciate and enjoy those creations that are created. I took a look at what success meant to me and I would have to say that if I brought one smile with something I created beyond my own smile I am a success in sharing my heart and my love of creating. I looked at the poem I had not sold a copy of as it soared past the 6000 mark in views and smiled deeply from my soul. I knew many that had read it perhaps had no money to buy a gift for their daughters and perhaps printed that poem and gave it to their daughters framed or unframed to express their love in such a beautiful way… I have profited far more again than money could give as the treasures in my heart and the hearts of those that shared as well as those shared with smile and love deeply the sentiments expressed.
I put the second painting that my friend had wanted to buy in the box with the one she bought it should be hers as well and was the first painting I ever finished it deserves a place in a loving home. I hope she truly smiles and feels the love I share as I feel the love of who she is and her heart of gold. I wish I could have bought her daughter some shoes as well… I wish her and her daughter the best and will be a better friend in the future although we are not meant to be a couple she is my friend for life and I am honored she allows me to be so.
Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two and perhaps a smile. I would love to hear your thoughts as far as what success means to you… Thank you all for being the change positive our world so needs by sharing your love and your smiles making our world a better place for all we share it with. 

18 thoughts on “Success? Subjective or objective?

    • I hope she is happy as well! I wish I could see her face when she opens the box and finds the second painting! She deserves some smiles and the painting deserves a home where it will be truly appreciated. as Your comment and smiles are always appreciated I am grateful for your taking the time to share them!

  1. Same experience in a way – I self published a novel and lots of people read it, lots of good reviews, but few actual sales. So was that success? My favourite line is – if you feel like a failure, redefine success 🙂

    • Thank you… You have shared quite an honor I appreciate the sentiment as well as the gift you shared in re blogging this post. I am grateful, you are quite awesome! 🙂

    • Thank you Ian… You are looking rather dapper and distinguished in your new picture! 🙂 I am going to get back with you soon as far as the poetic suggestions you shared in your notes. I am trying to maintain a sense of balance at the moment as the wheel turns faster it seems with each day.

  2. You are looking good my beautiful friend! 🙂 I take it feeling good as well by your humor… I am happy you are doing well! Thank you for sharing the laugh and the smiles:)

Leave a Reply

