Not always as it seems…. a poem


Although happy I may seem
Reaching for the stars and following my dreams
Sometimes I feel sorrow, and wonder what it means

I know I am not alone
Even though at times I feel lonely in a house not a home
Not falling in the despair I used to feel to my bones

Happy is a state of which I am aware
As I follow my dreams along a path traveled by those who dare
I rarely show the sorrow especially to those that care

Sometimes it seems like a carrot dangling from the sky
I almost can reach it and the harder I try
The more I need wings so that I can fly

I share this feeling and this thought
To express that sometimes happy I am not
Even a dreamer in sorrow sometimes gets caught

Tomorrow they say a better day will bring
The magic of a new day a smile will make your heart sing
I choose in each moment to do the right thing

As I sometimes slip into sorrow and wonder what it means
Reaching for the stars and following my dreams
Sometimes I am not so happy or so it would seem

Sharing the truth makes my heart sing
Sometimes even I can feel sorrow and the tear that it brings
Tomorrow will bring a smile and bring better things

Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two with you… ( Doris you make me smile…) I won’t forget again or neglect to say thank you. I got it although it took a whileπŸ™‚ I always say thank you as it is just what I should do.Β  If I didn’t do so it would be disrespectful to both you and I.

12 thoughts on “Not always as it seems…. a poem

  1. wonderful, joe. i think we all have sides to us, that we don’t reveal to everyone. only those we feel comfortable enough with to know they’ll not be swayed by our rolling waves of emotion. – beth

    • Thank you Beth I quite agree, I need to sometimes share the fact I am human and do have emotions other than just the happy one I try to convey even when I hurt. Thank you for sharing your smiles and thoughts with me I am very grateful you chose to do so!πŸ™‚ Joe

  2. ‘Sometimes it seems like a carrot dangling from the sky
    I almost can reach it and the harder I try
    The more I need wings so that I can fly . . . ‘

    You can and, rest assured, you will!

    P.S. Do not try too hard – or even hard – simply keep your hand on the tiller of your boat of life to keep the prow pointing North: the winds and the currents will do the restπŸ™‚

    • Ian, thank you for sharing the love and encouragement. I am honored, as well as grateful! Sometimes I do try too hard and place too much value on things that truly are of little consequence, Flying is what I came to do, pointing north even in the roughest of seas and the fiercest of winds is what I am learning to do thanks to the wisdom shared by many and the likes of you.πŸ™‚ Yes the currents carry me to let me be what I am meant to be inspiring many to follow their dreams and be who they came to be.

  3. Joe if we didn’t have a little sorrow now and again, we would not know the joys and the pleasures in life.. Sometimes those knock-backs come just as reminder .. SO we get back up and pull ourselves up again to the highs of life..

    May you always rise above the sorrows Joe.. sending you love and Light my friend
    Sue

Leave a Reply

