Cast Iron Pan a treasure of sorts!


I would like to share a thought or two… I have read many posts and many have shared the question…
If you could hit the reset button and start over in life what would you do differently?
I have often thought about what I would change if anything and although I have some things I am not so proud of and made some mistakes I have said for the most part I wouldn’t change a thing.


I was inspired to share a bit of a personal story and a piece of what I would perceive as wisdom shared by a beautiful lady who I truly love dearly even though she passed away. I also will throw my own twist in as I thought about what I learned from my experiences in life and the wisdom shared from a pan and the Ancients.


I was young maybe 12 or so and was going on my first Boy Scout camping trip, I had no proper gear and we didn’t have much money so I borrowed some things from my grandparents. One of those items was a treasure of sorts although at the time I didn’t realize or know why it was.

cast iron photo: Cast-Iron Frying Pan Cast-Iron-Frying-pan.png
The cast iron pan! I borrowed a cast iron pan that was one of my grandma’s favorite pans in the world; it had been my great grandmas. She leant it to me and asked me not to ruin it, I smiled as I looked at that old pan it was dirty, old and it was cast iron. I told her I wouldn’t and couldn’t ruin it.


I used the pan to cook some bacon and eggs, it caught fire and one of my fellow scouts did the silly boy thing and put the fire out urinating in the pan. I was in shock my meal was ruined and he peed in my grandmas pan. I took the pan to the creek and scrubbed it clean, figuring I would take off all the years of grime and grease restoring it to new. In my heart I was doing the best thing I could do and boy oh boy was my grandma going to be proud of me for making that pan so clean and new looking.


I returned from the trip and took the clean cast iron pan to my grandma’s house and as I took it out of my backpack I was in shock she, saw the look on my face as I pulled the pan out covered in a coat of rust. I had ruined her pan, she looked at me heartbroken and hurt that I had cleaned and washed away 50 years of seasoning and character the love of 10,000 plus meals cooked in that pan. It was now a rusted pan that would never be the same, even though she smiled and said we could fix it as the tear rolled down my cheek. A little lard and some salt and pepper and baked it in the oven took away the rust after several times of doing so yet it was not the same. The pan had been given a reset..


I look at myself like that cast iron pan before I ruined it every time I think about that question would I change anything. 50 years of seasoning the love and the many things cooked in that pan seasoned it, it looked old and dirty even a little greasy perhaps even some may question if it was healthy to use it just by looking at it. I would have to say that over the years the many things cooked in it with love added character and seasoning to both the pan and the things cooked in it. A true treasure of sorts!


My twist I would say is this, like Lau Tzu after his many years was seasoned with life and the things he experienced as he aged made him the treasure we would call a sage. A true treasure of sorts! I am happy with who I am and love the treasures of being seasoned with life and time. To wash away my past and change it would ruin it and make it rust as would dwelling in the mistakes. To be a treasure like a cast iron pan would be divine!


Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two, I would like to say thank you for allowing me to do so. I would also like to say thank you for being you and sharing you love and smiles making our world a better place for all we share it with. You are the positive change our world so needs thank you for being you! 

6 thoughts on “Cast Iron Pan a treasure of sorts!

  1. Thank you for sharing this story with us. It really hits home the idea of what it can mean to change our past. It truly would change who we are.

    • Thank you Elaine, I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me and am grateful I shared something that you felt inspired to share such wonderful comment on.🙂 I do think that the past is just that and whether we could change it or not is not really relevant as the only constant in life is change, I hope that we can all look at that change and find the positive in at and find the good in the change that we have no choice other than accept. We can none of us stop change we can choose to accept it with love and grace however and I hope we all can learn to do that hard as it is sometimes to do so.. Thank you for the smiles and taking the time to share them!🙂

  2. To tell the truth, we are all very seasoned cast iron skillets. Sometimes we need a reset, but mostly we don’t. A reset is not a ruination when it is needed and the seasoned state of a skillet does not make it ‘old’ … we are as we are, useful in any state, for it is in the eye of the beholder that use is found.

    • So true… the skillet was a good example no? Yes I think we are all quite useful like the skillet we all have purpose. The skillet in the story was actually quite old as far as skillets go and gets older every day… I am quite sure it will last longer than I will it already has lasted longer that two women that lived more that 90 years yet in the big picture well I suppose it is not old at all! Thank you for sharing your nice and insightful comment I appreciate you taking the time to do so and for taking the time to read the post as you shared such a wonderful smile with me in choosing to do so. Thank you:)

Leave a Reply

