A smile for me… A poem and a smile


Sometimes the greatest smile

We can share

Is the one we share

When no one else is there

IMG_20140323_133441_657

I wanted to express a thought or two and maybe share a smile with you. I had the gift of corresponding with a friend about writing a blog post. My friend was considering not posting on their blog anymore, feeling perhaps that their words were not appreciated nor would they be missed. Funny as the blog was started to allow for the expression of thought and the feeling of getting it out into the world and come out of their box. Although anonymous the feeling of freedom and the empowerment of expression was a gift. I was thrilled that they chose to keep posting and the explanation of doing so to remain accountable to who they were and who they had become. Accountable to their self!  Awesome!!!!

I have that responsibility as do we all to hold ourselves accountable to who we are and choose to be. At times I forget to give myself that love I need to share with me. Many of us are guilty of this I think. I am working on that and have made leaps and bounds in the last few years.

 One of the things I love most in life are smiles. I have for most of my life shared a beautiful smile although not cosmetically beautiful my smiles are genuine and not superficial. Thanks to some wonderful people and an awesome dentist as well as years of work and some rather harsh reality( a steel plate braking some teeth in a work accident, biting the tops off of bottles a stupid act of macho ism, and neglect as well as being born with less than straight teeth) I now have a cosmetically appealing smile!

Today I smiled just for me!

Thank you all for allowing me to share a thought or two, I am grateful and appreciate your time and presence. I would like to say thank you as well for being the positive change our world and all we share it with need. Thank you all for being you and I do hope that when you get the chance to share a smile with you, you will you deserve it you are awesome!

12 thoughts on “A smile for me… A poem and a smile

  1. About Joe Bradshaw,
    A wise man sharing life on a world with 8 billion other souls with joy in his heart and a beautiful smile on his face that comes from his heart.
    Hugs,
    Xena

  2. Thank you Xena, you are so very kind and share such beautiful smiles with your kindness.. Thank you for the smiles and the hugs… Wise well there are those who would beg to differ! Thank you however for sharing such a wonderful sentiment! Hugs back to you my beautiful friend!🙂 I appreciate and cherish your presence!🙂 Joe

    • Thank you Irene, your smiles are priceless… I am going to write you a note as to how to link my art from etsy to my art blog without posting my whole etsy page… I could use a bit of your wisdom and knowledge there… I admire your creativity and your gifts especially sharing those smiles!🙂 You are awesome thank you for being you and choosing to share with me and all of us such beauty!🙂

      • Thank you too Joe.
        When you are at your Etsy product, right click at your photo, then copy the Photo Link Address, go to your blog, New Post, Text, and click in the box, where you wish to insert your photo, right click there and insert.
        I hope this will help you, otherwise you just ask again😀

  3. Oh, Joe, you made me cry with this post. Happy tears of joy for you. I am so thankful that you chose to share your photo with your brand new smile. It is a beautiful smile. You have so much love to share with the world through your words and art ~ I know this will help you grow in leaps and bounds in both areas because it will give you the extra added boost of self-confidence that we all need sometimes. My heart is just bubbling up with happiness for you. You are always such a blessing. Thank you for blessing me once again with your smile, this post, and the smiles it brought to my face, Dear Friend.

  4. You have a beautiful smile Joe.. and the greatest gift that is free is that of a smile..🙂

    Smiling is infectious, you can catch it like the flu,
    When someone smiled at me today, I started smiling too.
    I passed around the corner and someone saw my grin.
    When he smiled I realized I’d passed it onto him.
    I thought about that smile, then realized its worth,
    A single smile, just like mine could travel round the Earth.
    So, if you feel a smile begin, don’t leave it undetected.
    Lets start an epidemic and get the world infected.
    ~Author Unknown~

    Keep Smiling Joe.. xx

    • Thank you for leaving the author unknown and not claiming A Smile For You as your own. I wrote this almost 30 years ago and just recently found it on the web with over half a dozen people claiming it as their own. This is how it was meant to be. Freely distributed to people who need a smile.😀

  5. How wonderful to ‘smile just for you’!! Way to go Joe. Excellent role modelling for all of us, to be happy… to be comfortable with who we are. And of course to be thankful for dentists and such that can help return our smiles to their original glory. But truly, as you show, the most radiant, beautiful smiles shine from a genuine heart – like yours. Cheers to you, and keep smiling that fantastic smile my friend. Gina

Leave a Reply

