A thought to ponder… Bumper stickers and Cake..


I am going to go a direction with this post that may not or may sit well with some people. I am not trying to seem or be judge mental in what I choose to share in this post it is actually an expression of love for all the human beings I share this life and earth with.

A while back several years ago there was a very common thought expressed and many cars shared that thought with a bumper sticker… ” What would Jesus do?”

It is somewhat ironic that as I observe the debate in Utah as well as the recent act of ignorance in Arizona over the same sex marriages and rights of those that are in same sex relationships. In Utah several of the cities or municipalities have chosen to support the rights of all and not to discriminate based on race, creed or sexual preference. The state legislators have chosen to just wait and see as they debate what is appropriate and what is not as far as laws are concerned.Β  Personally I feel they are waiting for the Mormon Church to take a stand and either accept it for what it is or to play hard ball in the name of “God” and what the religious right perceives is “Gods” word.

It seems to me that the right wing politicians and some of the people that are quite religious are somewhat fanatical in there attempts to force the population to follow their ideology and embrace their concept of morality to the exclusion of the rights of those that may not embrace such concepts. Why do we need a law to protect the rights of the people or the business’s from or for being who they are.. if a store or business in a community chooses to not serve the community in an open way and serve all that are in the community so be it. The community will just shop at another store or business who wants to shop where they are not wanted…

As I watched a news report about a baker in Arizona who chose to be the one to “Make a stand in the name of his lord and God” refused to bake a wedding cake for a gay couple. He made national news and spoke his piece yet it cost his family as well as him his business and lively hood as well as from what I understand his community lost a great bakery. The outcry and the hate mail forced him to close the doors.

I am not a biblical scholar nor am I a religious person, I have however read the bible and have observed the message that Jesus shared. It is about love and acceptance.. Judge not just love who you are and love others for who they are we are none of us perfect.

I would like to ask those right wing and religious people that choose to impose their beliefs and moral standards on those that feel otherwise which in my book is taking away the rights of those people.

What would Jesus do?

Personally form my understanding and what I have read… I believe he would have baked the cake! With a smile and perhaps a tear in his eye he would have baked that cake with all of the love in his heart!

I thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two, I debated even sharing my thoughts on the subject as I am trying to accept both sides of the argument and appreciate that it is not my place to judge. I do however have an opinion and it is one that says if you claim to be representing “god” then perhaps you should look inside and ask… Does a father love any of his children less because they are different or choose to be who they want to be?

Thank you for sharing your smiles and your love and helping make our world a better place for all we share it with!:)

CAKE!πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “A thought to ponder… Bumper stickers and Cake..

  1. I like your gentle nudge to have people stand back and take another look. I’m in the same neighbourhood as you…don’t need religion thrown at me – especially when it’s full of human bias. I even studied a Theology course so I could study the Bible for myself. Came to the same understanding as you…Jesus cut through the layers of bias and “ism”s with incredible demonstrations and parables of love and acceptance.

    I would go a step further, Joe, and say that someone’s sexual preference would not be the issue with Jesus at all…the significant matter is that it be an expression of love, respect and a contribution to each other’s spirit growth.

    The punitive stuff? It simply tells me it is NOT spirit based.

    • I am most grateful and honored you chose to share your thoughts and comment. I have many friends and perhaps a relative or two that choose to embrace a member of the same sex and love them none the less It changes not who they are nor the love they share beyond what some may see. Yes I would also agree that it is not spirit based when someone try’s to dictate or control what another does or how they feel or choose to express or share their love. I appreciate your wonderful expression as well as your heart that you chose to share this comment from… I would say in my heart your comment is very spirit based, thank you for being beautiful you and sharing that on your blog and pages as well as here with me..πŸ™‚ The smile is pricelessπŸ™‚ Joe

  2. a good read…
    “in the end…only kindness matters”
    (my favorite quote….)
    and your words breathe kindness….
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts,,,
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Maryrose, I once again must say you bring great smiles and joy as you share your thoughts. I love the quote as well and in the end you are very kind as well as being a beautiful soul and human being. You matter Maryrose, we all do thank you for being the change and making our world a better place for all we share it with!πŸ™‚ Joe

  3. What would Jesus do?
    This is a very good question but a warped mind will still see the answer through the mirage created by the mind! However, each and every one will come to the end of the road at some time.
    Another aspect to the thrust of what you wrote is that of karma, or “as you sow so shall you reap” and there is the law of physics viz. “For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.” which is a spiritual law applied to creation. I say this because when we consider why someone is doing something we need to ask why someone else is at the receiving end.πŸ™‚

  4. Ian your words and comments are always a welcome treat and bring great smiles!πŸ™‚ I can’t quote the spiritual laws yet I do see your point and the point of both sides of the argument. I believe I read one of your quotes the other day about being here to observe. I am merely observing and sharing my observation.

  5. Jesus loved all of the people who were despised by the society of his time…I think that gives us the answer right there. It’s perfectly okay to express your opinion even if it may offend some. Sometimes you have to take a stand.

    • Thank you very much for the comment… I believe you are spot on. I have at times offended many yet still have a smile and a heart of gold. It would seem that you do as well thank you for sharing it. Yes there is right and there is wrong.. Sometimes we all have to collectively say that is just wrong! Peace!πŸ™‚ Joe

  6. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    Happy New Year !!!!!!! and best wishes for you in 2014πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, I truly enjoy reading and exploring what you have chosen to share. I am grateful and appreciate your taking the time to visit and share your kind words and thoughts. Best wishes for you as well in 2014 and beyond, your heart sings a beautiful song.πŸ™‚ Joe

  7. There are rules/laws to protect and control. Protect from uncivilized actions and control from hurting others..Question arises..why ?
    We..the human race, have a will..and we think and determine our likes and dislikes in various topics /subjects. So..what is a common ground to distinguish right from wrong ? To praise or punish. To promote or not.
    Society, religion and politics are three basic sources for ensuring this system in our present world.
    We, may not belong to any but we have to abide by all.

Leave a Reply

