A special farewell… a poem and flowers


102_7391

91 years of rising suns

Your presence will be missed be everyone

A daughter a mother of three daughters and sons

Grandmother and great grandmother to many little ones

For me she was my grandmother this is true

There are things I would say yet she knew

She taught me much with the things she would say and do

Most cherished was the love and wisdom

 she shared when I was blue

When I was little she took me to church

Not the one in the building where she usually went

The one in the woods where the creek ran

The one that the heavens sent

Where we fished for trout not for perch

When my first wife left and I wept

Her words of comfort through my life I kept

Today as I say good bye

I try to do so with no tear in my eye

Crying she said does not comfort bring

“Tears you shed for such a little thing

Love is not something from someone else

Love is loving what’s inside of yourself”

I smile as the tears they fall

Even my grandmother didn’t know it all

The tears I cry with love and joy they fall

The tears from the love inside they do call

Please don’t be disappointed in me

As my tears they fall wild and free

I learned many things from a 91 year old

Been given many treasures more precious than gold

No longer may I have your hand to hold

I have your love inside my beautiful soul!

 –

Goodbye Anna Laura your given name

Grandma to me, they are one and the same

As you transform from this earthly plane

Back to the heavens from where you came

I love you forever

Thank you for sharing your love with us all

I am sharing a thought and sentiment on a day of sorrow and joy, one of my gifts in life, as I am sure it is for many, was my grandmother. I only really knew one as well that is how it was for me. I chose to express my thoughts here in honor of her place in my heart, it matters not if the world knew her or those that may read this knew her. My heart felt expression shares the beauty of who she was and the power and beauty as well as the grace and love that she was.

Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two, the painting I was working on when I was told she had passed away, she would have loved it and the pink flowers she loved in life somehow felt appropriate. Perhaps the love I felt as I painted them she felt as well as her spirit looks at them now I know she does.

Thank you for being the change positive and making our world a better place for all we share it with. Share your love and share your smiles we are making a difference one smile and act of love at a time.

15 thoughts on “A special farewell… a poem and flowers

    • Thank you for sharing your heart as well as your taking the time to do so. I am grateful as well as humbled by the sentiment you expressed. God has blessed my heart many ways and many times as the gifts you share truly show. Thank you🙂

  1. What a beautiful painting. Your words are very moving. I can feel your love for your Grandmother, the deep sorrow from her passing, as well as a lovely remembrance of her life and memories with you. Thank you for sharing these with us.

    • Thank you for your beautiful comments and sharing your thoughts with me they are a source of warmth and comfort and I am grateful. I had thought about not expressing this publicly yet that wouldn’t have been true to me in a way. I am honored you took what I expressed in a beautiful way. Thank you:)

  2. I like the poem – both the content and the meter. I have never liked “Modern” poetry with its free form. To me it lacked rhythm – but that is me; each to their own!

    • Ian I believe that is one of the comments I cherish most of the many you have graced me with. I have the utmost respect and admire you as well as the wisdom you share and contain within. Thank you for expressing you liked the poem and I may add the huge smile when you came back and added you liked the painting! I will have that smile for days.🙂

  3. within the silence of each tear,
    a celebration of love through the years
    nothing compares to the wisdom of a grandmother
    she gives and gives like no other
    may you find a moment within peace-filled memories
    to remember her special one of a kind energy

    no words can comfort the sadness like silent tears
    my thoughts and prayers go on the wind to you and yours….
    Take Care….You Matter…
    )0(
    BlessedBe
    maryrose

    • You my Beautiful friend though so far away touch me deeply with the things that you say. I am grateful for your thoughts and the comfort they bring, I hope like the ones in my heart with joy my memories of love sing. You matter as well and beautiful is story you share as you express and show that you really do care. Thank you MaryRose, your friend Joe🙂

Leave a Reply

