When winter ends… A poem as the leaves fall.


The tree does not despair

When the leaves have fallen and it is bare

Branches barren do not cry

Reaching high into the sky

Leaves falling to the ground

Beautiful colors turning brown

Colors that once so graceful were

Returning once more to the dirt

Spring will come when winter ends

Leaves decomposed bringing life again

Budding and growing gracing the branches of the tree

The grace of the leaves once again will be

The tree branches naked on the tree

Open and reaching as we see

Knowing things are as they should be

Simple and beautiful wild and free

I often wonder as naked I am

If I like a tree firmly rooted stand

My arms like branches with my open hands

Why would I feel despair

When I stand alone and no one is there

Knowing things are as they should be

Simple, beautiful wild and free

Spring will come when winter ends

Life is love my beautiful friends

Thank you for allowing me to share some thoughts and perhaps a smile. Fall is in full swing and shares its beauty as well as the first glimpses of winter. I was inspired by the majesty of the trees as they stand in their simple naked beauty. I hope we can all enjoy the simple beauty of our Earth and nature as the seasons change and we change as human beings. It is my hope that even when things seem to be dying around us we can appreciate the simple beauty of things are as they should be. We as humans have the choice to accept that things like seasons change and we as humans can affect change in a positive way for each other and our world. We are not subject to the seasons to change nor are we without the gift of changing things in a positive way if we so choose.

Please share a smile and share your love and help make our world a better place for all we share it with.πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “When winter ends… A poem as the leaves fall.

    • Thank you John, I appreciate your comment compliment and your taking the time to share them.I am happy you liked the poem and happy you share tour thoughts and poetry as well!πŸ™‚

  1. lovely, Joe. It reminds me of the biblical admonition to watch how the lillies grow, how they neither toil nor er…struggle or worry (or something) (clearly time to buff up on scripture)

    Super good.πŸ™‚ Your voice is coming out stronger and more eloquent all the time. That is what is especially great about the “writing disease”–it’s progressive!!πŸ™‚

  2. Winter seems to have an edge this year…
    I feel it even before Autumn’s leaves have all fallen…or maybe I hear it rumbling in the distance
    wanting to come sooner…
    Your words are beautiful as always…I always enjoy the soft quiet of them….
    Take Care…You Matter….
    )0(
    maryrose

    • Thank you very much for the compliments it is an honor to have you share them with me and the time you take to read my poems… I am grateful for you taking the time to do so.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

