Spiritual Mastery and what I aspire to (part two)


My latest post was becoming very long as I felt inspired by the words of  Sri Chimnoy a Spiritual Master I recently was introduced to through his writings by a fellow blogger. As I read many of his writings I found myself fascinated by his way of sharing the wisdom of many Masters before him and his perspective of Mastery. The last page of the website dedicated to his teachings and writings that I was exploring shared something I felt was quite true and profound. I appreciated its point and its powerful message. What do you expect from a Master of Himself and a spiritual being who lives in the presence of the divine? I have been asked many times, was I learning Alchemy to turn lead into gold? What did I hope to gain from divination the winning lottery numbers? Did I hope to become a preacher or start a church? The truth is none of the above, I only want to hear and understand the voice of God and my soul that I may live and do as my maker wanted when I was created.

A friend and I talked recently about the subject of that still small voice, She said she heard it often and followed it regularly. I have questioned many times what I felt was my inner voice and free will. The ego of my human self and my desires as opposed to my soul and my aspirations and throw in what did God have in his heart as I was created. Much like a child I expressed are my desires, or my free will compared to what my maker wants. I the child wants to dip my French fries in my chocolate milk instead of catsup and play at the dinner table while I should be eating my dinner. My Father would rather I dipped my fries in catsup and sat nicely at the dinner table and eat my dinner with my best manners. What di God want for me and what was my soul sharing with me rather than what my ego wanted and shared with me. The Ferrari I could have been driving or the wonderful children I chose instead, a no brainer for many yet I still wonder what it is I should be doing rather than what I want to be doing.

The fact is as I read somewhere that “once you drink the water from the well of spirituality you will forever be thirsty”. I have had great thirst and have from my birth and will till I die I would venture to say. I had asked an uncle of mine once as I felt overwhelmed with the amount of spiritual reading and studying I had been doing is there such a thing as too much knowledge? His response was no, if you feel overwhelmed or confused listen to your still small voice. The one I have been trying to learn to hear I responded. Some people have the gift of just knowing or they never ask as I which of the voices in my head should I hear?

The final thought shared on the website of Sri Chinmoy’s teachings summed up for me the same truth for which I felt and have been learning as I have studied and searched so long and expressed my thoughts in a way I choose to share here. I am still a child in the spiritual realm and shall be forever as it were. I can not even begin to imagine the depths of our Universe nor the wonders it contains and as far as God… well I can only say I am a living creation for his purpose. I choose to embrace and seek my inner truth and aspire to be the best person I can be.

When a man realises the highest Truth, he tries to offer the highest Truth to humanity at large. Most often unrealised people or unspiritual people think that a realised person, if he is truly realised, has to perform miracles at every moment. Miracles and God-Realisation need not and should not go together. When you stand in front of a spiritual Master, what you expect to see and what you do see is Peace, Light, Bliss and divine Power. Now, where does he hold this power? Not in his arms or legs, or in his head, but deep inside the inmost recesses of his heart. Enter into him and you are bound to feel infinite Peace, infinite Light and infinite Bliss. But if you expect something else from a realised soul, if you come to a spiritual Master thinking that because he has realised the highest he can fulfil your teeming desires, make you a multimillionaire in the twinkling of an eye, you are totally mistaken. These are the kinds of things he does not do. If it is the Will of the Supreme, the Master can easily make someone a multimillionaire overnight. He can bring down material prosperity in abundant measure, but this is not the Will of the Supreme. What you can expect from a Master and from a Master’s realisation is Peace, Light and Bliss.

Sri Chinmoy, Eastern Light For The Western Mind, Agni Press, 1973

by Sri Chinmoy
From the book Eastern Light For The Western Mind, made available to share under a Creative Commons license

Thank you for allowing me to share some thoughts and perhaps a smile. Please share a smile share your love and help make our world a better place for all we share it with. Thank you for being the change positive and thank you for sharing your love.

3 thoughts on “Spiritual Mastery and what I aspire to (part two)

Leave a Reply

