A quote, a phillosopher a poet a battle and a chase…


Poets are shameless with their experiences: they exploit them.

Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil

 

 

 

I wanted to share a thought in an artful way; I have always been intrigued, with the philosophies of philosophers. as I read a short few paragraphs of Friedrich Nietzsche I was inspired to compose a rebuttal in an artful way. Perhaps what he says in the above quote is true. I would ask philosophically however is it a bad thing?

The one I chose to chase

A few days ago a day, I will never forget

A day when on a road two of the greats met

I picked myself a ringside seat

In awe as I was witness to this amazing feat

Awesome words of wisdom the poet

And the philosopher did speak

The poet deflected the glancing blow

With the grace of an Eagle

The philosopher undaunted continued

Feeling rather Regal

The words they crackled and sang through the air

Both having great knowledge and wisdom to share

The exchange lasted hours and darker it grew

The poet stopped for the winner they both knew

The poet said you win and I win too

In your mind, logic rules the philosopher in you

In your heart your soul sings with poetry

 Expressing the love, you have

For all that shares with you

The poet then smiled waiting,

 To hear what the philosopher would say

What happened next was incredible

I was happy that I had stayed

The two took hands as if to shake

Pulled each other close

In a loving warm embrace

As they parted smiling

The poet I chose to chase

Just a thought I wanted to share as sometimes the thoughts of others and different perspectives give us insight into our own perspectives. The quote By Friedrich Nietzsche was one that for me personally inspired thought and feeling.

 Thank you for allowing me to share some thoughts and sharing a smile or two. I hope we can all share a smile and some love or loving thoughts and help make our world a better place for all we share it with.

8 thoughts on “A quote, a phillosopher a poet a battle and a chase…

  1. Superb rebuttal, Joe.

    All poets are philosophers but are all philosophers poets, I wonder.

    Taken in a broad sense, philosophers preach, poets prick.

    Peace, Eric

  2. Wonderful – the integration of poet and philosopher. So sad when we think only in either/or paradigms. Thank you for the wisdom.

Leave a Reply

