Diversity, writing, writing communities and being published.


 

Writing and sharing in our world and our communities is a great gift and has great benefits on so many levels for so many. Thursday night I was given the gift and honor of being published in a book titled “The Other Side Of The Window”. The book is the 13th in the series sine cera a DiverseCity Writing Series anthology. Written by writers in the city and state where I currently live. I am grateful for the community writing center for the many things they share and the writers, mentors and coaches for their contributions as they enrich our community.

  It was an honor to be selected, as well as have three of my written works published. I was also quite honored to have been the second writer showcased and the poem/prose chosen was one I shared here and very close to my heart. Words shared are very powerful at times and perhaps have the greatest effect on what we bring to our world and how we affect those around us. I am very fortunate to have learned so much from others, as they share their words especially those that choose to share them in writing. I had intended to share my works verbally and record it to share here. I however didn’t respond to a buried e mail and was left off of the schedule. I was of course still asked if I would like to and after seeing the time period we had I chose to pass and enjoy the words shared by so many beautiful people that I have learned much from.

  I am grateful for the choice I made as writer after writer shared their stories. Many of those that had written came from such places I could feel their pain and their joy, one writer a refugee for 30 years in Nepal. Another battling scars from many surgeries, another 34 years old and just learning to read. I watched and listened to these brave people express themselves in front of a hundred or so people many of them well educated and do so with confidence and self esteem and love. Some of them struggling with other issues such as speech impediments and tears as their hearts and souls shined when they shared their stories and we shared our applause and love with them and their accomplishments. A number of my friends asked why I didn’t showcase my talents as they feel I have a gift as I express myself verbally. I shared this thought with them “ I have a gift to share I share it often and have been given many gifts one of those gifts is letting my love show and giving those beautiful people their time to truly shine. I will have many opportunities to read my poems and stories, some of those writers took a couple of years to learn to write and another year to write their words. I would have never known that by reading those words on a page yet hearing their stories and seeing them in person is a priceless gift to me and our community. It was an honor to let them truly shine! “

  I was talking with many of them at the writers reception dinner and with the awesome members and staff of the Creative Writing Center and shared a few thoughts about some of my other diverse writing communities I have the gift of sharing in and with. One I take great joy in is the WordPress writing community, there are writers of all kinds, from all over our world, that share here. A gift and contribution to our global community, as we encourage and share with one another, information, art and wisdom of all kinds. An act of love for ourselves and our fellow human beings. It is a great honor to be part of such a diverse writing group thank you all for sharing and allowing me to share with you here. The gifts of self-expression and sharing in a positive way are a common gift for all if we are encouraged to do so we all have much to contribute to our world in so many beautiful ways. Thank you for sharing in yours.

  Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two and perhaps a smile. I hope we can all be the change positive look within and express ourselves with a smile and show some love making our world a better place for all we share it with. Thank you and please share a smile! J

A link to the prose chosen for the second work in the book.

https://iamforchange.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/intimate-words-of-my-destiny/

12 thoughts on “Diversity, writing, writing communities and being published.

  1. Noble thoughts indeed and thank you for sharing in this inimitable style of yours.

    So, as you contemplate being the change you desire to be, what would be first step you could take?

    Shakti

  2. Congratulations, beautiful prose about words, it is so fun to learn from good writers like your self, thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you I must say you are quite an excellent writer and I am quite honored you shared such a compliment with me! Thank you for sharing! the comment compliment and the smile that came with them!🙂🙂

    • Thank you for visiting here as well and I consider it Quite an honor that you extend such an invitation. You may use any post I have written as you choose for a feature as one of my best is certainly subject to ones perspective!🙂 I am grateful for your taking the time to share such a warm comment and such a sentiment.🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

