“Happy Mother’s Day Sierra” A poem for my daughter?


 

The first and only I will share with you

As I first cut the cord making one from two

Your tiny body almost blue in my hands

Tear in my eye as I became a man

You would love and understand

On this day as you celebrate your first

Unconditional love at its best and worst

With a daughter of your own

Like you were to me

 The greatest treasure ever known

I watched you dream and so many you had

I wished them for you and never wanted to see you sad

From my little Princess you grew

Little squeaky I used to call you

In to the beautiful Woman to be treated like a Queen

My beautiful daughter Sierra Jean

I won’t call you mom except on this day

Although my favorite for you, Blossom I very well may

My gift for you my daughter on this your first day

Happy Mother’s day in my own artistic way

I love you Sierra

That’s what your dad would say

By: Joe Bradshaw 2013

 

I wanted to share something as I have been spending much of my time with an awards page here as well as working on several other projects soon to be shared. I did have my daughter on my mind and up coming mothers day. I wrote a poem for her I am going to send framed and I wondered before I did so what you thought of the poem? If your dad wrote this for you would it touch your heart?

 

I thank you for allowing me to share some thoughts and perhaps a smile or two. I also hope we can all look inside and find that smile sharing some love and making our world a better place for all we share it with. Please be the change positive and make our world a better place.

35 thoughts on ““Happy Mother’s Day Sierra” A poem for my daughter?

    • Aww, I am truly honored with the sentiment expressed and the fact you chose to share them. I do wish to say thank you for such encouragement and sharing the smiles you share with me so often! Thank you Julianne you deserve nothing less from your father when you have children and I am sure in heart your dad feels so as well! ♥ Joe

    • Joe – This poem is a gift of the heart. By all means frame this treasure. Might I add that I have a poem my grandmother wrote and I framed it. It’s in her own handwriting and before I framed the poem, I asked my grandmother to sign and date the poem. Your poem will become a treasure passed down one generation to the next. I suggest you handwrite the poem and not type it. It will be more personal. Just my opinion.

      • Thank you Sheri, I am grateful for your thoughts and the sentiment, I had planned on perhaps calligraphy and painted flower border in a Victorian style frame.. Certainly not just printed on white paper. I hope she loves it and as she is a girly girl I am sure she will! Thank you! I am grateful for your friendship and support! Joe

    • Thank you and yes in my heart as in hers I know it is priceless… I thank you for sharing the compliment and the treasure of the smile your taking the time to share it brings!🙂 Joe

    • Tina, thank you! I feel you are a true gem as well and am grateful for your compliments and comments I am far more grateful you choose to share them and your friendship. It is priceless to me to have such supportive and sharing friends and your is such in many ways as you share your wisdom and heart with us all and especially with me! Thank you again Tina! ♥ Joe

  1. Great poem Joe! I noticed either a tiny error or maybe I’m not getting phrasing. In the second line of the first verse you say; “As I first cut the cord making one from two” shouldn’t it be; “As I first cut the cord making two from one”?

    • Thank you Marty, I am grateful for the comment compliment and suggestion. I was trying to remember the feeling when the doctor handed me the scissors… Scary in a way actually!🙂

    • Thank you Sue, I place a great value on your words and thoughts you share. Thank you I am feeling that she will quite love the poem and your encouragement helps that feeling in a great and positive way. Thank you my beautiful friend… ♥ Joe

  2. This is not a true comment I just wanted to let you know that I dropped my phone in the toilet and its dead. So I did not know how else to get a hold of you. Well I guess I will chat with you when I can. I will be going to Spirit to see what I can do. 🙂 Can you send me your email address on my email so I can talk to you again? deelightfull333@gmail.com

  3. I don’t think Ive ever had one written word from my dad in my whole life other then his name ‘dad’ on a card. If I were younger, I would ask you to adopt me…🙂

    • Thank you, and I am sorry that it was like that with your dad! I think you would have been and are a great daughter adoption isn’t in the cards yet friends is and I thank you for being one!🙂 Joe

  4. Pingback: How did this Happen!!! | Marty's Place

    • Thank you very much… it seems it must be a liked one it is my most searched poem to date on search engines. Funny that. I do wish to say your compliment and comment are greatly appreciated!🙂

      • You very much! Oh wow, really most searched. That says a lot. I was finally making it your way to comment on the award page from my phone and had trouble, and the tile caught my eye, couldnt help but read and leave such a lovely comment for yu. I pray all is well. many Blessings🙂

  5. It is a most special gift of love and should be framed. I agree with one of your earlier blog commentators who suggested calligraphy. The penning takes time but probably less than it took to write something with so much imagery and love packed in it.

Leave a Reply

