The gift of natures tiny little creek


Quite is the morning sun on this spring day

Flowers growing,

 Trees with blossoms blooming

Colors in all the spectrum’s, beauty in every way

I sit and reminisce of similar days that I have known

Times when a gift was shared

A gift of love sublime

The greatest gift my heart has ever been shown

Memories of the creek where we stood

On the bank where we hooked the worms

The water clear moving swiftly by

Cold around your legs somehow feeling good

The oldest one standing next to me my first cherished memory

As he shared the gift of love that I have shared

A gift of love so divine that will always be there

Look around you and tell me what you see in the water of in the creek

On this spring day as I sit by myself I reminisce of the love I felt

The time spent in the many creeks

 With the pure love that surrounded me

The gift shared so many times with the many the way it was so true

My gift of the heaven’s as it is theirs too

The times I spent with my sons

Is the gift is share with you

As I see them here in my heart so true

I remember the lord above as I shared that gift with you

Teach a man to fish he said is an act of love

As you step into that creek do so reverently

Do so with love and respect for everything that you do

This creek is a gift from the heavens filled with all you need

Surrounded by the colors of the spectrum beauty in every way

A gift that we share in natures beautiful display

A treasured memory as the water rose up and over our feet

The creek lives inside me as I feel my tiny hand

As I held your little one, a gift from the heavens

I again felt a gift so sublime, the love on the day held

 My grandfather’s with tiny little mine

The love I feel right now in my heart so true

As I shared my heart with you right now I feel it too

As we shared a story of the gifts of love

That the heavens gave to me and you

A gift far more meaningful than you will understand

A gift from a book of many years ago words of a special man

Teach a man to fish means so many things,

The words spoken by a beautiful human being

I feel the current as you step out on your own

I see the look on your face as the first on caught back its thrown

One of the treasures my heart does it hold

One I will always cherish as I in time I begin to grow old

Always put the first one back was my gift to you

To teach you the beauty of loving everything and everything you do

The stop and smell the roses, the beauty of the morning dew

The rainbow going back quietly into the creek

The gift of a story that I learned from many things

As I feel like sharing this love and the memory it brings

As I reminisce siting here listening to the birds sing

As we stood tiny hands holding the memories bring

The tiny creek surrounded by beauty in every way

The love in my heart as I reminisce and remember that first day

The feeling that the Lord was there with you and me

As we stood there in the creek

A sense so overwhelming how lucky that we were

The gifts of Mother Nature the treasures of the earth

Surrounding us with all her love and everything we need

A treasure so priceless in my treasured memories

The love I feel right now in my heart so true

Is the treasured gift of love shared in a tiny creek with you

In a tiny creek where we were asked, in the creek what do you see?

I see the love sublime a gift so divine

The tiny hand of mine

Teach a man to fish and always will he eat

There are some who many mouths will they feed

The gift of teaching a man to fish a tiny creek

Brings love to many as surrounded

By the greatest treasures we may seek

The treasures of love from the heavens

Natures’ tiny little creek

  I share a thought or two as I was so moved, after talking to my son and wishing I was standing in the little creek with him.

I hope we can all share a smile share some love and help make our world a better place for all we share it with . Thank you for sharing your time in visiting and sharing with me. Joe:)

11 thoughts on “The gift of natures tiny little creek

  1. Beautifully expressed and perhaps the emotion is felt more because you were able to also speak with your son and the additional love you felt was added to the words. Perhaps this was a multi-generational poem as you mentioned your small hand within your grandfathers. And, yes, I was always taught that you must throw the first catch back. Well done, my friend.

    • And here I thought I was being an original telling the kids I taught the fishing “God” would bless them with all they needed if they would let the first one go no matter how big it was. I would love to hear your inspirational story as how you came about such a practice. I grew up at times fishing on an Indian Reservation and it just felt like to me as a young boy I could feel many Indian and white men shared this water through time just as my Grandpa and I fished it although I was usually barefoot. Thank you for the lovely comment and the memories it brought back as well.🙂 Joe

      • Joe – I didn’t know until I worked/wrote regulatory briefs for the Coast Guard for a year that the Native Americans actually own all bodies of water within the continential United States. There’s a vague statutory law that no one is willing to challenge and the Bureau of Indian Affairs keeps a tight lid on it. Every time someone wants to move the direction of even a stream, permission has to be granted by the Bureau.

      • Thank you Sheri, an interesting fact I was un aware of and quite intriguing in a way… Thank you for sharing this and well I am just better off letting the thought dwell in a nice spot when I go fishing. Thank you for all of your kind and supportive thoughts and words you share with me and all of us! Joe

    • Thank you Eric I am happy the emotion came through it was actually a great thing as I have taken so many kids fishing their first time. I have probably bought fifty or sixty fishing rods and kits for various kids I have taken fishing the first time. My sons however many times have felt the love of all so to speak as the water parts around our legs and the fishing line gets taught. Yes sharing is a great way to show as is a smile our love and indeed help make our world a better place for all. Peace to you as well, thanks again, Joe

Leave a Reply

