A tear a loss of fear and a poem by a thirteen year old girl.


I wish to share a thought or two, as I started to slip into despair peace came upon me once again. The gifts of love from many friends, has given me back my strength of self. Many things have been given me in times of what for me in the past seemed to be a bad thing. Being born into a family and place of little wealth even when I have had nothing I have had much. I was recently reminded as I read a publication of collected thoughts and dreams dedicated to and by future and present Queens.

I had been scared as I shared in an earlier post as to what my future may bring and the thought of giving up on my dreams even if just to put them on hold as I worried about the mounting pressures financially I came upon a story a poem by a thirteen year old girl. I was reminded of being thirteen and homeless I was there by choice as I listened to her sweet tender voice and the tear rolled down my cheek I was embraced in the love of life and the little girls of the poem I embraced in my heart and with my loving strong arms reached for them I know my dreams will come true. Thank you Gaylene for the hug you gave me and the love of your beautiful heart reminding me of how powerful I am.

The beautiful poem I share with you:

Homeless Child

By: Gaylene B. age 13, go girlz

Homeless child

I can see the shame in her little blue eyes

 as she watches others pass, oblivious in their lives

A gentle night breeze brushes her silken hair.

 She looks like an Angel illuminated in the glare.

She hugs herself for warmth under red white and blue,

 holding tight to a single toy that is her friend, loyal true.

She sits in somber silence as people pass her by,

 to busy in their circumstance to hear her silent cry.

Glutton at their table, they pass without a clue

that the little girl may be hungry.

Have we become so calloused?

Are we so blind to the pain that we can pass a child in need,

 and not hang our heads in shame?

Have we so easily forgotten the Lords decree,

 “Whatsoever ye do the least of these, ye do also to me”?

Have we become so heartless, so selfish in our lives,

 that we are no longer moved by a homeless child’s eye?

I can see the happy flush, Her blue eyes show no fear.

As I gather her in my arms,

My brown eyes fill with tears

 

My fears subside as I embrace the fate that befalls me whatever it may be as I look at a single toy a friend my oldest friend, loyal, true. A toy I have carried my whole life that at thirteen I hugged on a street so cold to keep me warm under the red white and blue. Should I end up on that corner again I think I will pass on my friend true, to a beautiful child with eyes of blue as I hold her tight and share my greatest gift. The love of my beautiful heart the only thing I can give that will always be true. My blue eyes have seen much this I know is true, if the heavens love me as much as I love the Universe and all that dwells within my dreams have to come true. The means will find a way to my door that I may share my love with all I meet the needy and the poor. To share a meal with them even if they have no door many times I have shared even with no means. As it is my greatest gift the powerful gift I am given the gift of words and love the dream must come true. The dream I have of the means to live my life sharing what I have been given.

IMG_20130406_202342

I would share with you the collected works if you so desired I have many copies and will ask the KUED 7 station if I may post a link to the project and perhaps a pdf file with the book. If you e mail me I will send a hard copy if you would like one. It was a privilege and honor to be included in such a wonderful and touching book.

Thank you for allowing me to share a thought or two. I hope we can all share a smile and share our love making our world a better place for all we share it with.

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “A tear a loss of fear and a poem by a thirteen year old girl.

    • Thank you and I am grateful for your comment and encouragement, after the things I have been through it is very apparent they all led to giving me the strength I need to be and live my dreams. ♥ Joe

    • Thank you Robyn, your comments and support are so welcome and appreciated. The sweet young girl has a heart of gold! I believe she has written three novels already ! What an awesome example for us all!

      God bless as well and with great love thank you! The smiles are indeed very deep!
      ♥ Joe

    • Yes it was I intend to share your comment with her and an honorary Inspirational Blogger Award as well, she is quite a remarkable young lady and has written three novels! An awesome accomplishment and an awesome heart has this young lady! Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts. I as I am sure is the young lady grateful.🙂

  1. It’s always amazing to me what we chose not to see when we walk or drive by others in our world. Thank you for sharing this story with us and as always, sharing a part of yourself with us. We are honored.

Leave a Reply

