The Unexpected… My first day of Creative writing class


The unexpected and a true gift for me I choose to share as I express my thoughts through words and my heart on pages and through time. I started my day a few days ago with February and the month when Poetry and Beautiful things is in its most appreciated time of year. Winter just passing its peak our hearts yearning for spring and the beauty of new growth and the blossoms of new beginning’s.

 

I have a few poems I have written over the years and am selecting some for various contests and aspiring to be published. I had the chance opportunity to see a friend of mine at work that is a musician and beautiful person knowing his appreciation for the arts and his wisdom I sought his advice. I asked if he knew a school teacher or perhaps a nurse at the hospital we work at that would be willing to share thoughts and edit some of my poetry in exchange for a few dollars.

 

Then the truly unexpected happened, I have had the desire to truly become a better writer and in general a better artist and human being. My purest gift is that of self expression in what ever form it chooses to manifest itself as I do know Beauty in all of its forms both dark and light. As destiny would have it fate turned the corner and my life once again has been changed with the wind and the sand of time.

 

The Nurse in charge of training nurses a teacher of sorts rounded the corner, she is a friend that has a very kind heart. As we exchanged hello’s and briefly discussed my situation she informed me that there was a man at the hospital that conducted a creative writing class and loved poetry. As a Veteran the class is free and I could get the input I needed to improve my skills and create better works.

 

I went to work and in a few short minutes my friend the teacher of nurses came to our job site and had one of my coworkers come and get me. She had gone to her office and called the Art and recreation counselor and as it were that day was the creative writing class and I was welcome to attend. I walked with her towards her office as she talked. We rounded the corner after coming out of the stair well and there walked no other than the man himself the Art and Recreation director counselor chief cook and bottle washer.

 

We chatted briefly and I explained my objective to which he assured me that he would do his part to help me in my quest. Class was at 12:30 till 2:00 and I should be there and get at least familiar with the class and meet some people that would love to help edit some of my poems and get them entered in the local and national Veterans Art competitions.

 

I made arrangements to take a later lunch and start early so I could attend the class, I arrived a few minutes early no quite knowing what to expect yet filled with excitement reaching for the stars following my heart’s desire and the light that guides it. I was then given a gift even more precious than the ones before that the day had given. The class was a group of veterans that chose to share and express themselves through written words as therapy to heal and to share life’s experiences and their love through creative writing.

 

It was an honor and is an honor to be given the opportunity to learn and grow with those men and women on so many levels. I know not what they thought of me as I shared my thoughts I do know however what I thought as I shared those moments of my first Creative Writing class. With the sincerest of gratitude I share with twist of fate a great gift of destiny to become a better writer artist and better human being starting my first class in such beautiful company.

 

Thank you for allowing me to share my thoughts and express myself through words and my hopes to bring a smile and some love to another. I was given the gift of a bit of education that I was not in a position to afford Financially, the interaction with fellow human beings that have endured great pain both physically and emotionally and the gift of empathy and love that they bring to my heart. All gifts that will add depth and beauty to my creation of art in any form it chooses to manifest. My true gift self-expression through art. Please be the change positive and share smile share your love and help make our world a better place for all we share it with.

 

PS… I am killing two birds with one stone here as it was my choice of writing assignments to share my day and the way it came to be that I was in the class and what I discovered along the way. I am now over my word limit a few words….

Leave a Reply

