The Emergency room ends my work day…


I started my day with a great amount of energy and felt that it would be a very treasurable day. Things were going as smooth as they can go, then well disaster happened. Not real disaster just a cut to the bone. I usually use metaphors when expressing my thoughts however this time I really cut myself to the bone.

Being a man today has allowed me to become stronger through my weakness. As a man in a mans world tough as nails has been the goal for most and for me for many years. I reached for strength in a way that cheated me and many men out of true strength. True strength is not overcome by destroying the good and the light side of recognizing emotions and admitting that there may be a better way, than pretending you can do it all yourself. True strength is recognizing that we are all in this world together and asking for help when you need it. Giving up control is one of the most difficult things a man can do and the most rewarding.

I have had a man weakness for my whole life regarding hospitals and doctors a fear of being weak and having to give up control and let the doctors do what they do to help make life healthier. I am grateful for the work that they do. There are few that can do such a job with the love and grace they share with us all. We complain about the cost yet without the love and skills they share we would be in trouble. I don’t think that the doctors and nurses want to make us bleed as they stop the bleeding. Corporations that strive for more profits are the reason for the exaggerated costs.

I share these things as I realized that I had no reason to fear the doctors that were fixing my hand stitching it back together and doing it with compassion and love as I behaved in a weak way. As the nurse prepared me for the cleaning of my wound she said “you are going to hate me” as she pulled out the scrub brush and the cleaning stuff. I was not concerned being the tough guy I am physical pain is easy. The way that the nurse gently and tenderly cleaned and prepared my wound touched my soul revealing a weakness that had plagued me my whole life. The fear of accepting that I am not invincible and that there are many good people on this earth that will help you when you need it.

My time here is limited and I have many weaknesses that have been exposed lately and I am reaching for the true strength of love and life with the time I have left. Sharing our skills and love is what we are supposed to be doing it is hard however when the fear of giving up control stops us from making our weakness strengths and allowing us to become better souls.

Ten Stitches and a nasty scar have helped me become a better stronger man by revealing a weakness and a gift of love. Thank you for allowing me to share my thoughts as I am home and reflecting on my trip to the emergency room and the lesson learned. I am grateful for the professionals in the health field and all walks of life that take the time and share the love to take care of us and make our world a better place for all we share it with.

Please take the time to share a smile and some love making our world a better place for all who share it with us. Thank you again.

One thought on “The Emergency room ends my work day…

Leave a Reply

