Lonely yet not alone


Lonely

Standing alone

Empty house is still home

Mountains tall made of stone

Many friends not flesh and bone

Trees, grass, flowers, cool breeze

Waves crashing on stormy seas

Sunshine, caressing, being free

Longing for one to hold me

On top of the mountain made of stone

I am lonely yet never alone

My empty house is still my home

Lonely yet never alone

I always have my friend made of stone

I share these thoughts as I am moved and know that I am not the only one that feels lonely at times we all have felt that way. It sometimes helps to get out and embrace nature and all it’s wonders as they often take that lonely feeling and help you feel that you are not alone. I am a very positive and optimistic person yet still have the feeling of being lonely at times. I hope by sharing that it may bring a smile to another as it brings me a smile to share my silver linings found in so many dark clouds.

Thank you for allowing me to share my thoughts with you and perhaps that smile. I do hope we can all share a smile and share our love making our world a better place for all we share it with. I smile when alone at the top of the mountain and although lonely I know I am not alone. Please share a smile and share your love and be the change positive our world so desperately needs. Thank you for sharing your time and smiles with me.

About Joe Bradshaw

A simple man sharing life on a world with 8 billion other souls with joy in my heart and a smile on my face!
This entry was posted in life, Poetry, self awareness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lonely yet not alone

  1. I truly enjoy your gift with poetry, and you write in my own favorite style, with lovely rhyming cadence that tells of personal feelings as we journey through life. I have felt this way and find this piece very touching. While I know in my heart your ‘One’ of flesh and bone to hold you is coming in God’s time, I am so happy you are at peace in your Home, your ‘friend made of stone’. And you appreciate so many of your friends in the out-of-doors: trees, grass, sunshine, waves. Very nice imagery! Thank you so very much for sharing of yourself here. :) ~Gina

  2. I know the feeling, I actually think I responded to another blog that I follow these exact sentiments … Lonely but not alone … Isn’t it interesting though if we are being truthful that we can be surrounded by people, but to not have that special on in your life can make you feel so lonely. I know others who are married and feel lonely. Maybe that’s just part of the dynamics of being human. Beautiful and genuine poem. Thank you my friend.

  3. As I was reading this…I felt like I was rapping with your words. This poem flows and its beautifully touched. :)

  4. petit4chocolatier says:

    Beautiful poem.

  5. Hello Dear Joe,

    I see your Blogger for Peace logo and the awards! Great! Congratulations!
    Tomas

  6. jrosenberry1 says:

    Actually…. thank YOU for sharing with US!
    And … I am so glad you tamed the evil widget monster. :D

  7. I have nominated you for the Shine On award, please go to: http://theothersideofugly.com/2013/01/07/shine-on-award/ and follow the SUPER SIMPLE INSTRUCTIONS

  8. Robyn Lee says:

    Very lovely Joe ~I too find love and friendship in divinity of nature. Very important to me these days — as I’m more limited given my medical issues. Thank you for sharing this – I have to agree — never alone….

    Oh — got your note on my blog — If I can offer assistance in some small way, would be happy to. Will try to send a hello email to you soon ~ or if you have mine (believe you do since I am commenting/edit feature will reveal( – please give a holler. Warm wishes your way ~ Robyn

Leave a Reply

